About Contact Careers News
Public Relations

4/26/2012 - Jackson, Miss.

For the first time, Mississippi’s eight public universities will confer more than 10,000 degrees during Spring Commencement Ceremonies held on campuses across the state. The degrees conferred include 7,515 undergraduate degrees and 2,571 graduate degrees, for a total of 10,088 diplomas awarded.

“Conferring more than 10,000 degrees during Spring Commencement is an important milestone for Mississippi Public Universities,” said Dr. Hank M. Bounds, Commissioner of Higher Education. “Our universities have put a laser focus on improving retention and graduation rates and this serves as an indication that those efforts are paying off. Increasing the number of Mississippians holding a post-secondary credential will increase economic development and improve the quality of life in our state.”

Click to view.

2012 Spring Commencement

Click to view.

# # #

The Mississippi Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning governs the public universities in Mississippi, including Alcorn State University; Delta State University; Jackson State University; Mississippi State University including the Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine; Mississippi University for Women; Mississippi Valley State University; the University of Mississippi including the University of Mississippi Medical Center; and the University of Southern Mississippi.

News Archive