JSU President Search About Contact Careers News
Public Relations

5/28/2009 - Jackson, Miss.

The Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning (IHL) will meet via teleconference at 1:00 p.m. on Tuesday, June 2, 2009 to determine the preferred candidate for both the position of Chancellor of the University of Mississippi and the position of Commissioner of Higher Education. The public may attend the meeting in the IHL Board Room in the Universities Center, 3825 Ridgewood Road, Jackson, MS 39211. An executive session may be held in accordance with the Open Meetings Act.

Following the Board meeting, a press conference will be held at 3:00 p.m., also in the IHL Board Room. Trustee Amy Whitten, chair of the Board Search Committee for the next Chancellor of the University of Mississippi, and Trustee Ed Blakeslee, chair of the Board Search Committee for the next Commissioner of Higher Education, will announce the preferred candidates and be available for questions. The press conference will be webcast live from www.mississippi.edu/ihl.

The Mississippi Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning governs the public universities in Mississippi, including Alcorn State University; Delta State University; Jackson State University; Mississippi State University including the Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine; Mississippi University for Women; Mississippi Valley State University; the University of Mississippi including the University of Mississippi Medical Center; and the University of Southern Mississippi.


News Archive

Moving Mississippi Forward

The Pathway to Growth for Our State

COVID-19 (Coronavirau Disease 2019) UPDATE

Allison Bullock
Social Media Manager
Telephone: 601.432.6389

Kim Gallaspy
Assistant Commissioner for Government Relations
Telephone: 601.432.6493