JSU President Search About Contact Careers News
Public Relations

4/21/2008 - Jackson, Miss.

The Board Search Committee for the next president of Mississippi Valley State University (MVSU), chaired by Trustee Bettye Henderson Neely, along with Commissioner of Higher Education Dr. Thomas C. Meredith, will meet with various Mississippi Valley State University constituency groups on Friday, May 2, 2008, beginning at 8:30 a.m. in the Business Education Building on the MVSU campus, 14000 Highway 82 West, 206 Medgar Evers Street, Itta Bena, MS, 38941, to hear what qualities the Mississippi Valley State community is looking for in their next university president. These qualities will be used to draft the profile and job description for the position of president at MVSU. Members of the Mississippi Valley State University Board Search Committee include Committee Chair and Trustee Bettye Henderson Neely of Grenada; Trustee L. Stacy Davidson of Cleveland; Trustee Bob Owens of Jackson; Trustee Alan Perry of Jackson; and Trustee Amy Whitten of Oxford. All meetings are open to the media.


The schedule, subject to change, is below:

8:30-9:10 a.m.: Breakfast and listening session with Executive Staff; Conference Room; Business Education Building


9:15-10:00 a.m.: Listening session with Deans and Academic and Non-Academic Department Heads; Auditorium; Business Education Building


10:10-10:55 a.m.: Listening session with Faculty Senate and General Faculty; Auditorium; Business Education Building


11:05-11:45 a.m.: Listening session with Staff Council and General Staff; Auditorium; Business Education Building


11:55-12:25 p.m.: Listening session with Student Leaders and Student Body; Auditorium; Business Education Building


12:35-1:25 p.m.: Lunch and listening session with MVSU Foundation Board of Directors; Conference Room; Business Education Building


1:35-2:20 p.m.: Listening session with MVSU Alumni Association Board, Alumni, and Community Leaders; Auditorium; Business Education Building


2:30:3:00 p.m.: Listening session with General Public; Auditorium; Business Education Building

Members of the general public interested in submitting their ideas on the qualities of the next president of MVSU may do so by visiting http://www.mississippi.edu/ieo. The Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning’s institutional executive officer search process allows Mississippi to be on the consideration list of the highest caliber professionals in higher education. The process is open, transparent and representative-based, and works in accordance with today’s recruitment standards for high-level institutions of higher learning. For more information on the Board’s institutional executive officer search process, including a timeline of events, visit http://www.mississippi.edu/ieo/.  


Under the leadership of the Board of Trustees, IHL governs the public universities in Mississippi, including Alcorn State University; Delta State University; Jackson State University; Mississippi State University including the Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine; Mississippi University for Women; Mississippi Valley State University; the University of Mississippi including the University of Mississippi Medical Center; and the University of Southern Mississippi.



News Archive

Moving Mississippi Forward

The Pathway to Growth for Our State

COVID-19 (Coronavirau Disease 2019) UPDATE

Allison Bullock
Social Media Manager
Telephone: 601.432.6389

Kim Gallaspy
Assistant Commissioner for Government Relations
Telephone: 601.432.6493