DSU President Search USM President Search Contact Careers News COVID-19 (Coronavirau Disease 2019) UPDATE
Public Relations

5/15/2007 - Jackson, Miss.

During the April 18 meeting of the Mississippi Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning (IHL), the Board unanimously approved four-year contract renewals for Delta State University President Dr. John Hilpert and Jackson State University President Dr. Ronald Mason, Jr. 

Dr. Hilpert came to Delta State University in 2003 after serving as president of Northern State University in Aberdeen, South Dakota, since 1997. Dr. Hilpert has tapped his thirty-plus years of educational experience and fundraising prowess to fulfill his vision of making Delta State "the best regional university in America."  Learn more about Dr. Hilpert and Delta State University.

Dr. Mason assumed the presidency of Jackson State University early in 2000, bringing with him a wealth of experience in higher education, community development, and legal issues. At the time of his appointment he was serving as Executive Director of the Tulane-Xavier National Center for the Urban Community in New Orleans, Louisiana, but he had previously served Tulane University in various roles for 18 years. Learn more about Dr. Mason and Jackson State University.

Under the leadership of the Board of Trustees, IHL governs the public universities in Mississippi, including Alcorn State University; Delta State University; Jackson State University; Mississippi State University including the Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine; Mississippi University for Women; Mississippi Valley State University; the University of Mississippi including the University of Mississippi Medical Center; and the University of Southern Mississippi.


News Archive

Forging Mississippi’s Future

The Pathway to Growth for Our State

COVID-19 (Coronavirau Disease 2019) UPDATE

Caron Blanton
Director of Communications
Telephone: 601.432.6333

Allison Bullock
Social Media Manager
Telephone: 601.432.6389