DSU President Search USM President Search Contact Careers News COVID-19 (Coronavirau Disease 2019) UPDATE
Public Relations

12/19/2019 - Jackson, Miss.

Mississippi Public Universities prepare the educator workforce for Mississippi's K-12 schools, with 71.6 percent of education graduates working in Mississippi five years after graduation. In addition to serving the students of our state, these graduates continue to demonstrate a commitment to the teaching profession through earning National Board Certification.

This month, the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS) announced teachers who recently earned the credential. Along with the announcement, NBPTS also provided a listing of the 2019 Top 50 Alma Maters by Total Number of NBCTs. Three public universities in Mississippi were included on the list:
  • University of Southern Mississippi, ranked at #11, with 997 total NBCTs
  • Mississippi State University, ranked at #14, with 914 total NBCTs
  • University of Mississippi, ranked at #27, with 660 total NBCTs

"Earning National Board Certification is a mark of distinction among educators," said Dr. Alfred Rankins Jr., Commissioner of Higher Education. "Successfully completing the rigorous process signifies that the teacher is dedicated to students, the teaching profession and continuous learning and improvement."

Board-certified teachers have demonstrated their impact on student learning and achievement through completion of a performance-based, peer-reviewed process.

Mississippi Public Universities also support teachers seeking National Board Certification through the World Class Teaching Programs housed at five universities, including Delta State University, Jackson State University, Mississippi State University, University of Mississippi, and The University of Southern Mississippi.

The programs support teachers as they progress through the certification process by providing workshops, mentoring, online candidate support and other resources, giving NBCT candidates ongoing professional development throughout the process.

# # #

The Mississippi Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning governs the public universities in Mississippi, including Alcorn State University; Delta State University; Jackson State University; Mississippi State University including the Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine; Mississippi University for Women; Mississippi Valley State University; the University of Mississippi including the University of Mississippi Medical Center; and the University of Southern Mississippi.

News Archive

Forging Mississippi’s Future

The Pathway to Growth for Our State

COVID-19 (Coronavirau Disease 2019) UPDATE

Caron Blanton
Director of Communications
Telephone: 601.432.6333

Allison Bullock
Social Media Manager
Telephone: 601.432.6389