JSU President Search About Contact Careers News
Public Relations

10/16/2019 - Jackson, Miss.

The IHL Military Credit Policy Task Force continues its work with a credit review to develop course equivalencies between the military courses completed during service and the university classes required for a degree. The review will be held Friday, October 18 at 10:00 a.m. at Jackson State University’s e-Center.

Once developed, the course equivalencies must then be approved by each university. After the campus-level approvals are complete, the course equivalencies will be posted on the IHL Military Credit website to inform prospective service members and veterans prior to admission.

An IHL institution may award up to 90 hours of academic credit for military learning at the undergraduate level. Evaluation of military learning for academic credit will occur at the time the student is admitted and enrolls at an IHL institution and will be recorded on the student’s transcript at that time to allow for informed advisement.

The credit review, which will focus on military police training, brings together military officials, subject matter experts from the military and university staff. Those slated to speak at the credit review include:
  • Dr. Alfred Rankins Jr., Commissioner of Higher Education
  • CPT Dusty Culpepper, Deputy Executive Director of Outreach, Mississippi Veterans Affairs Board
  • CPT Marcus Parker, Education Services Officer, Mississippi Army National Guard
  • LTC (Ret) Craig Chandler, Force Integration Division Chief, Army University
  • Dr. Casey Prestwood, Assistant Commissioner, Policy and Strategic Initiatives
  • MSG Ryan Maynard, 3/169th Regiment RTI (MPT), Connecticut Army National Guard
  • Sheri Rutherford, U.S. Army Military Police School
  • Christopher Heberling, U.S. Army Military Police School
This continues the work of the IHL Military Credit Policy Task Force, which was established by Dr. Rankins in December 2018 and charged with:
  • Evaluating best practices within the state and across the nation;
  • Creating a policy and guide to systematize the awarding of academic credit for military learning;
  • Placing the guide and articulated credit decisions on a system level website; and
  • Working with Mississippi community colleges to establish articulation and transfer agreements for military credit.
Members of the task force include:
  • Dr. John Igwebuike, Interim Provost and Executive Vice President of Academic Affairs, Alcorn State University
  • Dr. Charles McAdams, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, Delta State University
  • Janieth Adams, Associate Director of Admissions, Jackson State University
  • Brian Locke, U.S. Army LTC (Ret.), Director of the Center for America’s Veterans, Mississippi State University
  • Shelley Moss, Director of Admissions, Mississippi University for Women
  • Jeff Loggins, Director of Student Records/University Registrar, Mississippi Valley State University
  • Dr. Charlotte Pegues, Assistant Provost, Registrar, and Assistant Professor of Leadership and Counselor, University of Mississippi
  • Major General Jeff Hammond (Ret.), Director of Veteran and Military Student Services, Center for Military Veterans, University of Southern Mississippi
  • Dr. Casey Prestwood, Assistant Commissioner for Policy and Strategic Initiatives, Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning


The Mississippi Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning governs the public universities in Mississippi, including Alcorn State University; Delta State University; Jackson State University; Mississippi State University including the Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine; Mississippi University for Women; Mississippi Valley State University; the University of Mississippi including the University of Mississippi Medical Center; and the University of Southern Mississippi.

News Archive

Moving Mississippi Forward

The Pathway to Growth for Our State

COVID-19 (Coronavirau Disease 2019) UPDATE

Allison Bullock
Social Media Manager
Telephone: 601.432.6389

Kim Gallaspy
Assistant Commissioner for Government Relations
Telephone: 601.432.6493