About Contact Careers News
Public Relations

5/9/2016 - Jackson, Miss.

Some of the brightest minds in Mississippi Public Universities have been examining some of the Mississippi’s most pressing problems and will present their findings at the first “Advancing Mississippi: Research for a Better Mississippi for More Mississippians” Conference on Thursday, June 9, 2016 at the Mississippi e-Center at Jackson State University, located at 1230 Raymond Road in Jackson.

Hosted by the University Research Center (URC), the conference will cover topics ranging from Understanding the Nature of the Teacher Shortage to Financial Literacy among College Students to Transforming Lives through Health Insurance Outreach and Enrollment and feature researchers from across the state as they present papers that address the systemic challenges that Mississippi faces.

The goal of the conference is to uncover productive ways to overcome challenges and foster growth in Mississippi, while creating better economic conditions for all Mississippians. The first session begins at 9:30 a.m. The final session of the day begins at 3:20 p.m. and will feature student paper winners. Representative Joel Bomgar, a Republican from Madison County, and Representative Kabir Karriem, a Democrat from Lowndes County, will speak during the luncheon.

The full agenda, which includes links to abstracts for each proposal, is available online.

Registration is available online. Registration is free until Thursday, May 12, 2016. Beginning Friday, May 13, 2016, the registration fee will be $20 per person. Space is limited so it is imperative that each participant register.

# # #

The Mississippi Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning governs the public universities in Mississippi, including Alcorn State University; Delta State University; Jackson State University; Mississippi State University including the Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine; Mississippi University for Women; Mississippi Valley State University; the University of Mississippi including the University of Mississippi Medical Center; and the University of Southern Mississippi.

News Archive